A Statewide System

The Kentucky Community and Technical College System (KCTCS) is the newest postsecondary education institution in the Commonwealth. KCTCS was created by the Kentucky Postsecondary Education Improvement Act of 1997 (House Bill 1). Our 16 colleges and on more than 70 campuses are deeply rooted in the educational history and tradition of Kentucky.  

In Your Community

From Ashland to Paducah, from Covington to Bowling Green, and online, KCTCS colleges are strategically located to provide accessible education and workforce training that is relevant and responsive to the needs of Kentucky’s students, business and industry leaders, and the communities they serve.  


KCTCS offers certificates (some as short as 6 weeks) and diplomas as well as two-year associate degrees in 700 programs. The most popular area of study is the Go2Transfer program, which allows a student to earn an associate degree at a KCTCS college and transfer to a four-year Kentucky institution.  

Focus on Workforce

While emphasizing its historical mission to provide general education, KCTCS is expanding its focus on occupational/technical education. In the past several years, KCTCS has become the largest provider of post-secondary education and workforce training in the Commonwealth.